Once conform, once do what other people do because they do it,
and a lethargy steals over all the finer nerves and faculties of the soul.
Virginia Woolf

Why should I do what other people do? Why shouldn’t I conform to societal norms? In order to function in society successfully, I must conform to the rules of where I live and the people who make the rules. However, there is a caveat here.

God calls His children to be in the world, but not of it; to render unto Caesar what is Caesar’s and unto God what is God’s – the difference being the natural world versus the spiritual world. I do my best to obey the laws of my country, state and city. I pay taxes (however unwillingly), stop at red-lights and stop signs, don’t take what is not mine, and so on. But if there is ever a point at which the people in charge say it’s okay to do something against the eternal law of God, then I may have to rethink that position.

Obeying God but disobeying the law of man is not without its consequences. First, I have to figure out if the law of man is against what I believe to be of God – does it cause harm to another living being (plant, animal, human)? If it does, then according to my understanding of God, it would be against God. Second, I have to decide if I am going to abide by man’s law or God’s law. Third, once that decision is made, I have to live with the consequences. If I break man’s law, I may be jailed or in extreme societies, put to death. If I break God’s law then I will have caused a gulf between us, a gulf that may or may not be able to be bridged. (Please note that I said I caused my separation from God.) Would I be able to live with that? Would I be able to die with that decision?

We who follow God closely as we are able walk a fine line between man and God. We must be careful to obey the law of man but remain blameless before God. It isn’t easy, nor is it meant to be. Our sojourn on this planet, this Earth we call home, is a place for refinement, a place where our love and devotion to God and all things spiritual is purified so that when we once again stand before God in all of our nakedness, we might do so with purity of heart and a clear conscious.

 

img244

Leave a Reply

