“I understood that true greatness is not found in a name but in a soul.”

St Therese of Lisieux wrote that in her autobiography when she made a pilgrimage to Rome (before she took her vows) and she saw many dignitaries of the Catholic Church behave as they are – humans – and not the perfect saints she originally thought them to be.

How often I make snap judgments about spiritual people – as a person who identifies with Christianity I tend to be most critical of Christians. I forget that they are human with foibles and faults. Maybe the expectations I place on them are really the ones I burden myself with.

Maybe I should remember that true spiritual greatness is not found in a name or title but in the heart and soul of a person.

Maybe I should give them and myself a break.

Leave a Reply

