Time’s succession of consecutive changes is what keeps everything from happening at once. Its sequential ordering of life is so much a part of us that we cannot conceive of existence without it.

So we have to constantly remind ourselves that God the Father—more alive than we can imagine, from everlasting to everlasting—exists, not in time like us, but in eternity. He is not bound by time.  ~~  Ellen Vaughn, Time Peace

time's gears

So I am learning – however slowly – about this being at peace with time  – I keep reminding my self that I am in God’s time and just this morning I thought about my job. If you don’t know, my job consists of wearing headphones 8  hours a day answering questions and taking complaints. That’s right, I’m one of those customer service representatives on the phone that you (well, maybe not you) yell and scream at when something goes wrong and it’s not the rep’s fault that you don’t like the rules of the corporation but you’re going to curse her out anyway because it makes you feel good. I have issues.

Anyway, this is a tough job in and of itself, let alone for someone who is an introvert and in another century would have been a cloistered nun. So now I must expand my thought about being at peace with time. If I truly believe that I am in God’s time, then I am at this job because He wants me there.  And all the people I deal with on a daily basis – and 95% of them are rude bullies with no manners – then somehow I have to wrap my head (and heart) around the possible fact that they call me – not just for what they want – but because as I am in God’s time,  are they, too, in God’s time? And if that be the case, why do I hate my job so much?

Maybe because I am focused on the people and not God.  Hmmm. Something to ponder. . .

Leave a Reply

