When you walk in a cemetery, some of the gravestones are ornate, glossy Italian marble with expensive carvings and elaborate flourishes. Some are spare and simple. But all have the same four elements: a name, a birth year, a death year, and a dash between those two dates. It is what we do in that dash that counts. ~~ Ellen Vaughn, Time Peace

022816 time flies

What am I doing during that dash – the dash that means my existence on earth? Am I wasting it by doing nothing of world importance? Is my life any less meaningful because I am unknown to the world-at-large? It is easy to feel that way – it is all to easy to feel abandoned and alone.

It is during those times I must rely on faith that I am not alone. And, although I am one person, alone in a world of billions, I am important to the One who is Eternal, Unchanging and Timeless. I may not understand all the workings of His Being, and never will, it doesn’t matter. It can’t matter.

And even though I fall over into the dust, bang up my ego and allow my feelings to be hurt, I remember I am in God’s Time. And for today, that is enough.

 

 

Leave a Reply

