illuminWe begin our journey through a new book, Illuminata – Thoughts, Prayers, Rites of Passage by Marianne Williamson. While this small book holds nuggets of spiritual treasure, or pearls of wisdom, in some ways this book is out of date.  Having been published originally in 1994, the author waxes on and on about a new spiritual awakening that is upon the globe and how things are changing for the better. But as with many a dreamer or philosopher before her, what she’s sees as a new birth of spirituality is, when looked at backwards, a  continued downward slope to even darker days. How low will mankind truly go before he finally starts the upward growth en masse? Only God knows and He’s certainly not telling us.
In the meantime, let us be about the business of our Lord, spiritually growing and serving at His Pleasure as we are able.
 
From the book:
. . . I have been drawn here by the power and in the presence of God.
I dedicate my days and my relationships to You.
May Your Spirit, which is within me, so guide my thoughts, my feelings and my perceptions of all things
That I might grow into a happier, more peaceful, more loving human being.
Illumine my mind, illumine my life.
Amen.
Leave a Reply

