We put bits in horses’ mouths that they may obey us and we turn their whole body.
Look also at ships: although they are so large and are driven by fierce winds, they are turned by a very small rudder wherever the pilot desires.
Even so the tongue is a little part of our body yet speaks mighty words. See how great a forest a little fire kindles.
And the tongue is a fire—a fire for good or a fire for bad. And when it is a fire for saying bad things, it defiles the whole body.

For every kind of beast and bird and reptile and sea creature is tamed or has been tamed by people.
But no one can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.
With it we bless and praise our God and Father and with it we curse men who have been created by God.
The tongue speaks both blessings and curses. This should not happen.

Does the faucet give us both fresh and salt water?
Can a fig tree bear olives? And can a grape vine grow figs?
No, a water faucet can’t give both fresh and salt water.

How is it, O Lord,
I can stand a praise you and ask you to bless me or someone else
And then in a split second speak words of gossip,
Judgement, resentment, hatred, ill will, and other awful things?

How is it there are these two disparate sides of me, both pouring forth good and bad from the same mouth?
If I curse someone – speak ill will of them or judge them or say terrible things about them – even if it is only to myself—

Let me remember that they might not hear me
But You hear me and I hear myself.

And how can I bless You in one breath and curse the creation of Your love in another moment?
Is that not like cursing You?

The Psalmist said, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable to You, O God.

Let it be so with me.
Let no gossip, no judgment, no ill will, no curses pour forth from my mouth.
Let only blessings and love pour out of me like pure water from an unblemished spring.

James 3.1-12, interpretation by Sabina from the New King James Version

Leave a Reply

