And I replied:
Even though I complain bitterly that God’s hand weighs heavily upon me
I wish I knew where He was – I would go to Him and complain to Him
About all the turmoil He is putting me through.
And maybe I would then be able to understand why God does these things to me.

Would He strike me down? I don’t think so.
God is a merciful God and
If a righteous woman were to present her case before Him He would show mercy.

But I look to the east and He is not there;
I look to the west and He is not there either.
When He is at work in the north, I can’t see Him
And when He is at work in the south, I can’t find Him.

But I am comforted in knowing that
He knows the path that I walk and
I will come through these trials and tribulations,
Refined as pure gold, cleansed of all the filth of my soul.

In spite of everything,
I have tried to keep to His way by closely following His footsteps.
I have not rebelled against His word
And I treasure His love as food for my soul.

 
Job 23:1-12, as interpreted by Sabina after the NKJV

Leave a Reply

