But what about psychological or emotional pain? This type of pain is far worse than physical pain (at least in my experience). This pain travels with you wherever you go, never leaves you alone and the drugs you take to numb it not only exacerbate the pain but often cause problems in other areas of your life as well.

The emotional pain I have felt in the past resulted in my need to numb it by eating – which caused me to become obese, which lead to physical problems, which lead to other problems, and so on and so forth. Therapy helps heal psychic pain – the act of talking about your pain, facing the dragon, as it were, is key to the healing process.

But, in my experience, therapy won’t heal all the pain; there are some things that only the Divine Touch of God can heal.

To me the meanest flower that blows can give thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears. –William Wordsworth

Those thoughts –

that pain –

that lies too deep for tears –

so deep I might not even be aware of the pain –

pain that effects everything I think, say and do without me even knowing –

those thoughts,

those pains,

 

only God can touch,

only God can heal.

 

That is the spiritual healing I want;

that is the spiritual healing I am seeking

 

and that is the spiritual healing God wants to provide

if I but ask,

and be willing to receive.

 

One thought on “Too Deep for Tears

Leave a Reply

